We've decided to give the Mirror Awards a fresh feel for 2017, so we've got some changes that we think you're going to like…

A New Date: June 4th, 2017
A New Entry Deadline:
April 3rd, 2017
A New Venue: Muzik Nightclub (muzikclubs.com, 15 Saskatchewan Road, Toronto, Ontario)
An Old Category:
Day To Night is back! See the requirements in the Entry Dossier.
A Change In The Rules: Day To Night and Best Video are now open to international stylists!
A New Entry Dossier: Download yours here!
 
 
 
As we once again prepare for the annual Mirror Awards, please see below a list of our most frequently asked questions to help you prepare your entry! If your questions are not answered below, or for further clarification, please contact Lisa Banks at mirrorawards@harcopub.com or 416-923-1111 ext. 236.

Can I enter the same category twice?
Yes, you may enter the same category as many times as you like provided that the frames differ for each entry.  

Can I enter multiple times using images from the same photoshoot?
Yes, you may enter images from the same photoshoot whether in the same category or varying ones, provided that the frames are different for each entry.

I'm having trouble uploading parts of my entry on the website.
Should you be unable to upload certain parts of your entry, please complete the entry form to the best of your ability and submit as is. Should documents be missing, please email them to Lisa Banks at mirrorawards@harcopub.com. You may attach the files directly, or send them through DropBox.com, WeTransfer.com, etc. We will confirm these files have been received and that your entry is complete.

Can I submit images that have previously been submitted to another competition?
Yes.

I'm from outside Canada; can I still enter the Mirror Awards?
Yes, you may enter our International Stylist, Best Video, and/or Day to Night categories as many times as you like.

It was a group effort for the collection we're submitting. Whose name do we put on the entry form?
We do not accept group entries for the Mirror Awards, however in the case of the provincial salon stylist categories, you may enter as a duo, or a trio if absolutely necessary. If working as part of a team, each member may use different images from the same photoshoot and models wherein each may submit an entry of their own to their respective categories. For instance, the colourist enters 'Colourist of the Year', the makeup artist enters 'Makeup Artist of the Year' and so on.

For categories such as 'Canadian Hairdresser of the Year' or 'Editorial Stylist of the Year', do the images all need to be from one collection, or can they differ?
The choice is completely yours, however we tend to find that the judges give better overall scores when the images are all from the same collection and follow a central creative theme.

When is the deadline to submit entries?
Monday, April 3rd at 5:00PM Eastern Standard Time.
Watch this space for more developments in the 2017 Mirror Awards, coming soon!
 
 
 
Need help making your creative vision a reality? The photographers listed below have helped Mirror Award entrants take home the hardware over the past five years and could help you do the same!

When selecting a photographer, please remember to review their portfolio carefully and check references with past clients before booking them. Entrants are in no way limited to using the photographers on this list - they are merely suggestions based on recent success at the Mirror Awards.

Legal Disclaimer: Canadian Hairdresser, canhair.com, ConnectUs.Education, The Mirror Awards and Harco Publishing are in no way or form associated or affiliated with the photographers listed below. We do not endorse or support these photographers in any way. We will not involve ourselves in any interaction between the photographers and entrants. Photographers are used solely at entrant's discretion and risk.

British Columbia
Niko-Lux                 modelmayhem.com/3319203
Philip Jarmain         philipjarmain.com
Gregory Swales      gregswales.com
Ernest von Rosen   amgmedia.com

Alberta
Amanda Diaz          amandadiaz.com

Saskatchewan
Erin Crooks             erincrooks.com
Gina Yesnik             ginasportraits.com
Macarena Yanez     makifotos.com
Nicole Noyce           noycephotography.com
Kiriako Iatridis          kiriako.ca

Manitoba
Rejean Brandt         rejeanbrandt.com
Ryan Wibawa          ryanwibawa.com

Ontario
Babak                      babak.ca
Brian Hamilton         alterego.zenfolio.com
David Hou                davidhou.com
Doug McMillan         dougmcmillan.com
Giancarlo Intini         giancarlointini.com
Judi Douglas            stonephotographystudio.com
Magdalena M.          magdalena-m.com
Natasha Gerschon   natashagerschon.com
Paula Tizzard           paulatizzard.com
Richard Dubois        duboisphotography.com
Stephen M. Loban   stephenloban.com

Québec
Alain Comtois            alaincomtois.com
Ara Sassoonian         arasassoonian.com
Brian Ypperciel          brianypperciel.com
Cassandra Leslie      c2studios.ca
Leda & St Jacques    rodeoproduction.com/#/artists/ledastjacques
Martin Bougie            martinbougie.com
Martin Tremblay        lepinch.com
Maxime Thibodeau   maximethibodeau.com

Atlantic
Brent McCombs        alterego.zenfolio.com
Denis Duquette         denisduquette.ca

International
Eric Ouaknine            eouaknine.com  FRANCE
John Rawson             therawsonpartnership.net   UK
Justin Grant                justingrantphotography.com   USA
Kale Friesen               kalejf.com   USA
Nick Berardi               nickeducation.com   USA
Rasmus Wallin           rasmuswallin.se   SWEDEN
Tania Quintanilla        tqphoto.com   USA
Yulia Gorbachenko    yuliagorbachenko.com   USA
 
 
 
 
 
 


This, the 22nd edition of the Mirror Awards, is the premiere showcase for Canadian beauty industry talent. The Awards Gala celebrates the creative achievements of those at the pinnacle of our profession, through the individual awards and through shows put on by beauty luminaries. 
 
The Mirror Awards entry phase is now closed. Download your Entry Dossier to get started on next year's entry. If you have any questions or concerns about your entry, please contact Lisa at info@canhair.com or 416.923.1111 x236. Thank you for overwhelming us with hundreds of entries this year – it's great to see so much excellent work.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Alberta Salon
Michelle Oliver, Kick Hair & Body


Atlantic Salon Stylist
Melissa Duguay, Eccentric Hair Studio


Avant Garde
Stephane Scotto Di Cesare, Freelance
 

British Columbia Salon Stylist
Curtis Hunter, Moods Hair Salon


Best Selfie
Ricki Boudreau, Uptown Hair Studio and Spa
 

Best Video
Rocky Vitelli, Locale J


Canadian Hairdresser of the Year
Julie Vriesinga, Entrenous


Colourist of the Year
Michelle Oliver, Kick Hair & Body
 

Contemporary Classic
Dorothy Tsang, Blushes
 
Community Heroes
Norm Wright & Frank Cini


Editorial Stylist of the year
Silas Tsang, Blushes
 
 
Canadian Hairdresser Hall of Fame
Daniel Benoit


International Hairstylist of the Year
Allen Ruiz, Ruiz Salon
 

Makeup Artist of the Year
Florencia Taylor, Replica Watches, Florencia Taylor Makeup


Manitoba Salon Stylist
Reyn VonDyck, Elan Hair Studio
 

Men's Cut & Style
Dorothy Tsang, Blushes
 

Multicultural
Alain Pereque, Salon Saco


Nail Technician of the Year
Valerie Ducharme, Valerie Ducharme Nail Artist
 

Newcomer of the Year
Étienne Cloutier, Coiffure Cut In


Ontario Salon Stylist
Stephanie Schewe, Salon Collage
 

Québec Salon Stylist
Alain Pereque, Salon Saco


Salon & Spa Design
Dean Delmonte, Dean Delmonte and Company


Saskatchewan Salon Stylist
Melissa Weir, Ethos SalonSpa
We can't wait to see all of you at the Mirror Awards next year! Thank you and good luck!
 
 
 
The 2016 Mirror Awards were held on February 27th, 2016 at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre. Tickets for next year's awards gala will be available in the Canhair.com Store, either individually or in tables of 10 seats. If you would prefer to purchase over the phone, please call 416.923.1111 x231. Can't wait to see you there!
 
 
 
Canadian Hairdresser once again hosted the Mirror awards After Party at Muzik Nightclub (map) after the show. Share your photos with us via social media by using the hashtag #MirrorAwards!
 
 
 
 
 
 
Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for all the latest awards info! 
 
 
 Share your creative process with us via social media by using the hashtag #MirrorAwards!
 
 
 
Signup to our Newsletter